Sunday, 3 July 2005

Millennium Development Goals

delivering bread in livingtsone, zambia

The United Nations Millennium Declaration of 2000 marked a strong commitment to the right to development, to peace and security, to gender equality, to the eradication of the many dimensions of poverty and to sustainable human development. Embedded in that Declaration, which was adopted by 147 heads of State and 189 states, were what have become known as the eight Millennium Development Goals, including 18 timebound targets.

They provide the best statement so far of what needs to be done. They are:

Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
Goal 5: Improve maternal health
Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability
Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development

Make Poverty History drives towards these through:

- Cancelling debt
- Increasing responsible aid
- Building fair trade

The UN Millennium Project identifies 10 key actions to acheive the MDGs:

***Imported from old blog***

No comments:

Post a Comment